American Thanksgiving: New Zealand 

My favorite Kiwihousesit home was in Napier. It had an amazing kitchen that was great for cooking Thanksgiving dinner (and many other meals.)

The house even had a lovely pool which was great to swim in on sunny days.

The best Kiwi kitchen ever was here in Napier. It was so well equipped-like my kitchen at home-I was so excited to cook every day. The garden outside had fresh herbs and citrus fruits that I loved using as well. 

The homeowners are avid travellers and had maps and travel books tscatteredthroughout their house.
Finding a turkey and cranberries was a very difficult task in New Zealand. I asked everyone I met if they knew where to get a turkey or if any stores sold cranberries. 

But finally in the freezer section of a grocery store a few days before Thanksgiving, I found a bag of frozen cranberries! I was so happy! (Cranberry sauce is my favorite Thanksgiving side)
I made homemade stuffing from my Mom-mom’s delicious recipe and fresh bakery bread. 

After going to a few stores and butchers I finally found a turkey at a nice butcher shop in Napier. It was my first time making a turkey and it turned out so delicious with all of the fresh herbs. 

The meal was my favorite part of this house stay. We made so much food that were eating Thanksgiving leftovers for days! 
I also made delicious pumpkin ravioli with the pasta maker from the so well-equipped kitchen.


And finally I made my Grandmom’s delectable meatballs and gravy (tomato sauce.)


Oh…and one of the cats I was watching.

Leave a Reply

